The Poems of T. S. Eliot: Volume I

Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Adding to cart… The item has been added

The Poems of T. S. Eliot: Volume I: Collected and Uncollected Poems

This first volume of a two-volume critical edition of T.S. Eliot’s poems respects Eliot’s decisions by opening with his Collected Poems 1909–1962 as he arranged and issued it shortly before his death. This is followed by poems uncollected but either written for or suitable for publication, and by a new reading text of the drafts of The Waste Land. The second volume opens with the two books of verse of other kinds that Eliot issued: Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats and Anabasis, his translation of St.-John Perse’s Anabase. Each of these sections is accompanied by its own commentary. Finally, pertaining to the entire edition, there is a comprehensive textual history that contains not only variants from all known drafts and the many printings but also extended passages amounting to hundreds of lines of compelling verse.

About the Author

T. S. Eliot was the author of The Waste Land and Four Quartets, among other works. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1948.

Product Specifications

Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2018.  Paperback, 1344 pages.