Until Next Time by Walter Bargen

Singing Bone Press

Adding to cart… The item has been added

In Until Next Time Walter Bargen’s quiet hand and prodigious powers of observation are formidably displayed. He wields wonder into wisdom at every turn of a page. His imagery pitch-perfect, seamless. “Evening enters us. / We dine on scarlet clouds. / Marbled waters drain to pastel.” Bargen’s poems are universal. He connects the spectacle of nature at every scale to the grand spirit of the human condition. Mr. Bargen’s poems lead us to ponder the enormity of our world through a journey of small, exquisitely detailed pace. Until Next Time is a collection of compellingly readable and relatable poems, holding the reader transfixed and transformed at the highest level of consciousness.

About the Author

Walter Bargen has published twenty-three books of poetry.  His most recent books are: Days Like This Are Necessary: New & Selected Poems (2009), Endearing Ruins (2012), Trouble Behind Glass Doors (2013), Quixotic (2014), Gone West (2014), Three-Corner Catch (2015), Too Quick for the Living (2017) and My Other Mother’s Red Mercedes (2018).  He was appointed the first poet laureate of Missouri (2008-2009).  His awards include a National Endowment of the Arts Fellowship (1991), Quarter After Eight Prose Prize (1996), the Hanks Prize (1996), the Chester H. Jones Foundation prize (1997), the William Rockhill Nelson Award (2005), Short Fiction Award– A cappella Zoo (2011). His poems, essays, and stories have appeared in over 300 magazines. 

Product Specifications

Published by Singing Bone Press, 2019.  Paperback, 202 pages.