The Life of Mark Twain: The Final Years, 1891–1910

University of Missouri Press

Adding to cart… The item has been added

The Life of Mark Twain: The Final Years, 1891–1910 (Volume 3) by Gary Scharnhorst

In the final volume of his three-volume biography, Gary Scharnhorst chronicles the life of Samuel Langhorne Clemens from his family’s extended trip to Europe in 1891 to his death in 1910 at age 74. During these years Clemens grapples with bankruptcy, returns to the lecture circuit, and endures the loss of two daughters and his wife. It is also during this time that he writes some of his darkest, most critical works; among these include Pudd’nhead Wilson; Personal Recollections of Joan of ArcTom Sawyer AbroadTom Sawyer, DetectiveFollowing the EquatorNo. 44, the Mysterious Stranger; and portions of his Autobiography.

About the Author

Gary Scharnhorst is Distinguished Professor Emeritus of English at the University of New Mexico. He is the author or editor of fifty books, including Mark Twain on Potholes and Politics: Letters to the Editor. He lives in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Product Specifications

Published by University of Missouri, 2022. Hardback, 712 pages.